Oswego school board re-elects Allen as board president

Kathleen Allen and Lynda Sereno were elected as the Oswego school district school board president and vice president during the annual reorganizational meeting Tuesday, July 1 at the Education Center.

Thomas DeCastro and Allen were both nominated for the president’s position and Allen will serve for the second consecutive year in that capacity as the result of a 4-3 vote.

Lynda Sereno was nominated and was elected by a 6-1 vote.

Committee assignments for the school board also were approved and included finance (Sam Tripp, Allen and Sereno), Curriculum (Heather DelConte, Brian Haessig and Sereno), Personnel (DeCastro, Haessig and Sereno), Policy (Michael McLaughlin, Allen and DelConte) and Facilities (McLaughlin, Tripp and DeCastro).

During a brief regular meeting the board approved more than 20 personnel resolutions.

Dean Goewey was named unanimously as the district’s new assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction. The veteran educator moves to the Education Center from his position as Minetto Elementary School Principal.

Goewey will continue as an interim principal at Minetto until a successor is hired.

In regular action the board approved a leave of absence for School Psychologist Sheena Hall for June and elementary teacher Samantha Spaulding for the entire school year.

Five teachers were appointed included Emily Smuckler (health) and elementary teachers for Charles E. Riley Elementary School Sherei Dafoe, Teanna Smith, Christopher Trappaso and Nestor Aviles. Two teachers will work during the upcoming year as regular substitutes and included Stephanie Dawson (CER) and Barbara Kline (KPS).

 Approval was given for  Kris Johnston to work in the Incarcerated Youth Program for up to 25.5 days this summer.

Summer literacy appointments from July 8 through Aug. 14 included reading teachers Jacqueline Clarke, Amy Armet and Jennifer Symborski along with special education teacher Nicole Cleary.

Joan Dain, Tricia Caroccio and Hope Mazuroski were appointed to serve on the summer bookmobile .

The district also approved winter and fall coaches for athletics and the extracompensatory positions for the elementary schools as well as the Oswego Middle School appointments.

The staff for the summer reading program was approved as was the creation of three half time substitute assistant cooks positions.

A resignation from custodial worker Robert Benzing was accepted and leaves of absence were granted to  Katherine Parker (computer aide) and Mary Warrington (teacher aid part time).

The board also approved three resolutions addressing the presence of asbestos that has been discovered during work that is currently underway at  Minetto, Leighton and  Riley elementary schools.

The next meeting of the Oswego City School District Board of Education will be at 5 p.m. July 15 at the Education Center, second floor curriculum room at 120 E. First St., Oswego.

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *