Oswego High School inducts new Honor Society members

Oswego High School’s National Honor Society held induction ceremonies recently.

As families, friends and faculty, along with some members of the Board of Education, gathered at the Robinson-Faust Theatre for the Performing Arts, nearly 33 Oswego High School students were inducted.

Addressing the students and audience, Oswego Superintendent of Schools Benjamin Halsey congratulated the newest inductees and expressed appreciation to family, teachers and community for the support  provided over the years. 

He reminded the students they are leaders, but with that comes responsibility. He recognized them for scholarship, leadership, service and character which are the four pillars of the Oswego chapter of the National Honor Society.

“Inductees, your accomplishments, coupled with your commitment and characters makes us all very proud. I encourage you to take time to reflect upon your journey to this point,” Hartwell said.

“Your accomplishments are a compilation of many years of education and certainly a proud day for all of us,” said Oswego High Principal Brian Hartwell.

“It is vital, however, to remember that the first teachers you ever had are your parents who have devoted their lives to you. They were your first teachers and your teachers for life,” Hartwell said.

Chapter had a key part in the ceremony as President Madison Collins, Vice President Allison Moshier, along with Secretary Mallory Gordon were joined on stage by Treasurer Kerrigan Cummins.

 The officers introduced the newest inductees.

 Included as the newest members of the National Honor Society were Ana Alcasid, Victoria Armet, Jenna Ballard, Katie Bradshaw, Trevor Bradshaw, Ayla Busch, Michaela Callen, Amber Canbek, Jordan Crapser, Sean Dain, Maia Delaney, Clare Donovan, Olivia Dowdle, Olivia Flint, Jacob Gerber, Alexander Haessig and Evan James.

 Also inducted were  John Khamis, Sydnie LeRoy, Roman Madlangbayan, Mariah Metcalf, Natasha Mezza, Brooke Morrisseau, Kyra O’Gorman, Emily Oldenburg, Elaina Rando, Kristie Reitz, Claire Richardson, Kelly Skinner, Kelci Somers, Mark Taormina, Christopher Van Gorder and Monica Wilson.

Hartwell praised the academic achievements of the students and stated “our community and eventually your nation will look to you and those like you to lead us deeper into the 21st Century. 

“The commitment and character that you have demonstrated will serve you well as you continue your journey,” he said.

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *