Legislature fills vacancy, names chairman and vice chairman

by Carol Thompson

The Oswego County Legislature named a new chairman and vice chairman to serve until the end of the year. The legislature also filled the vacancy created by the resignation of Fred Beardsley.

During Thursday’s session, Legislator Kevin Gardner was appointed to the legislature chairmanship in a 17-8 vote.  Gardner is replacing Beardsley, who stepped down last month to take the position of county treasurer.

Beardsley has served as the chairman and Gardner had served as the vice chairman.

Garnder and Legislator Margaret Kastler were nominated to the post. Kastler, along with her own vote, garnered the votes of legislators Jim Karasek and Shawn Doyle, both Republicans, as well as the five Democrat legislators.

Terry Wilbur faced competition from Democrat legislator Amy Tresidder and receive the same vote count for the vice chairman post.

Republican legislators approved the appointment of Hastings Town Supervisor James Weatherup to fill the District 9 seat vacated by Beardsley.

To read the rest of the article, pick up a copy of The Valley News. You can subscribe by calling 598-6397 or click on the link on our home page.

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *