Art students honored at Oswego school board meeting

The Oswego City School District Board of Education met Tuesday, Feb. 26 for its regularly scheduled meeting at the Education Center.

Oswego High School art students were recognized prior to the action on a variety of resolutions.

The students were recipients of Central New York Scholastic Art Awards and Oswego High School was represented by Gold Key, Silver Key and honorable mention award winners.

Among the students recognized were Gold Key recipients Criszer Cabanlig, Makayla Carson, Lauren Dafoe, Rebecca North and Mike Edwards.

Silver Key awardees were Chrissy Abare, Allie Henderson, Emily Henderson, Kayla Volkomer and Michaela Moran while the honorable mentions included Patricia Talamo, Victoria Gardner, Senna Handley, Shea Hewitt, Emily Henderson, Abare, Dafoe, Cabanlig, North, Edwards and Moran.

John Sheffield and Heidi Sheffield spoke to the board and asked for support in the upcoming effort to fight childhood cancer. The father and daughter noted that there were several local children suffering from cancer and that the St. Baldrick’s effort raises funds to fight childhood cancer.

They asked if any board members or school administrators might be “celebrities” in the upcoming effort.

Under personnel action, the board approved the resignation of modified assistant track coach Danielle Rombough.

Approval was also given to accept several Frederick Leighton faculty members as after school study table supervisors.

In actions involving professional staff, the board, by a 4-2 vote, approved a two percent raise for Superintended of Schools William Crist.

Jane Wagner was appointed as the new school lunch manager and will commence her duties April 1, 2013.

Under support staff action, the board approved the establishment of two titles which included assistant transportation supervisor and senior automotive mechanic.

Leaves of absence were granted to registered professional nurse Johnaellyn Waldron and teacher aides Jacqueline Pfiefer and Kathy Forger. Probationary appointments were approved for Theresa Verdoliva (custodian), Sharon Truax (custodial worker), part-time school bus drivers Bill Carney and Lee Williams, Tammy Martinez (part-time school bus attendant) and part-time school monitors Jennifer Wetzel and Rhonda Parker.

Kevin Meaker was appointed as modified assistant wrestling coach.

Permanent appointments were approved by teacher aide Laurie Knapp and food service helpers Debbie Meeks, Gina Stephens-Taylor, Brenda Neacosia, and Barbara Perfetti as well as registered professional nurses Linda Pickens and Johnaellyn Waldron.

The board approved a field trip for 20 High School students to participate in the Teen Health Conference in May.

The board accepted donations from Constellation Energy and Novelis and provided permission for Jammer Basketball to use district facilities.

The Board of Education will meet for its March committee meetings Tuesday, March 12 at 5 p.m.

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *