Oswego County Legislature reorganizes for 2013

OswegoCountySeal_WEBby Carol Thompson

The Oswego County Legislature held its organizational meeting Thursday with no leadership surprises.

Legislature Chairman Fred Beardsley was re-elected, winning the seat over Legislator Amy Tresidder. The Republicans voted for Beardsley while the Democrats voted for Tresidder. Legislator Margaret Kastler abstained from the vote and Legislator Shawn Doyle was absent.

Legislator Kevin Gardner won the seat of vice chairman against Legislator Jacob Mulcahey.  The vote was the same with Kastler supporting Gardner.

Minority Leader Mike Kunzwiler will continue in his position and Legislator James Oldenburg was named majority leader by his caucus.

The cooperation between the Republicans and the Democrats that dominated the final meeting of 2012 didn’t last long with both sides at odds over the legal newspaper designation.

The Republican caucus once again selected two newspapers for the legal newspaper designation.

Minority Leader Mike Kunzwiler said the county is entering a difficult financial year and it was his understanding that the Republicans were going to select only one newspaper.

“I believe we should be staying true to what we started last year,” he said of the legislature’s stance on conserving money because of the difficult budget year ahead. “We’ve got to start (cutting) somewhere.”

Legislator Morris Sorbello defended the action. “It’s important for our public to be informed,” he said.

The legislature designated The Valley News, The Palladium-Times and the Oswego County Weeklies as the official newspapers.

To read the rest of the story, pick up a copy of The Valley News or subscribe today by calling 598-6397

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *