by Andrew Henderson
State Street United Methodist Church has been recommended for the State and National Registers of Historic Places.
“Our historic resources help establish New York’s distinctive quality, character, and sense of place,” said Rose Harvey, commissioner of the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. “Listing these unique landmarks on the State and National Registers of Historic Places is a first step toward preserving, safeguarding and renewing these irreplaceable assets.”
The church included Fulton’s earliest settlers who mostly came here because of the benefits of trade along the Oswego River.
The church originally included the members of First UMC and was organized when the Rev. Isaac Teller of Cortland, a Methodist circuit rider, arrived in Fulton.
At that time, there were only 13 or 14 homes built along the Oswego Falls.
The church was built in 1894 at a cost of $2,500. Erwin R. Redhead, president of Victoria Paper Mill, and Forrest G. Weeks, president of Oswego Falls Pulp & Paper Company, gave a lot of 100’ x 200’ on State Street between Fourth and Park.
They then broke ground and built the chapel, designed by J.H. Seeber an Oswego architect. The work on this chapel, a room finished in Georgia Pine with two class rooms adjoining was done by George J. Emeny.
The opening service was held Sept. 30, 1894 with Rev. Dr. Sawyer, editor of the Northern Christian Advocate, which was printed in Syracuse, preaching the dedication sermon.
Listing these properties on the State and National Registers can assist their owners in revitalizing the structures, making them eligible for various public preservation programs and services, such as matching state grants and state and federal historic rehabilitation tax credits, according to Harvey.