New county legislative district lines unveiled

by Carol Thompson

The new lines for the Oswego County Legislature’s legislative districts were presented Thursday by a special committee.

Legislators must eventually approve new lines to bring the 25 districts to an average population of fewer than 4,900. Legislators must remain within five-percent of the total population for each district.

Legislator Dan Farfaglia, who represents the City of Fulton, had presented his own version of the maps with less division of towns. He attempted to have the committee consider his proposal, however, failed to gain any support from the Republican members of the committee.

Farfaglia is the lone Democrat on the committee. Other members include legislators Dan Chalifoux, John Martino, Kevin Gardner and Louella LeClair.

With some districts divided so that there are several legislators representing one town, Legislator Dan LeClair expressed concerns in regard to the division of the Town of Palermo.

He told the committee he was not pleased that so many legislators would be representing the town. Former legislator Barbara Brown was present for the discussion and said that the residents will not be pleased with multiple representation.

The new maps also show the Town of Oswego divided with five representatives.

To read the rest of the story, pick up the latest copy of The Valley News. You may also subscribe to the paper by calling 598-6397
Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *