Rural post offices saved from closure

by Carol Thompson

The United States Postal Services has reversed its decision to close many rural postal hubs throughout the country, however, many will see a reduction in hours.

For Oswego County residents, it means more than a dozen post offices will no longer be open eight hours per day.

The post offices slated for reduced hours under the new proposal include Pennellville, Hastings, West Monroe, Altmar, Orwell, Redfield, Richland, Williamstown, Cleveland, Lacona, Lycoming, New Haven and Martville.

Most will be open six hours a day under the latest proposal, however, the hours at New Haven, Richland, Redfield and Orwell will be reduced to four hours per day.

Postmaster General Patrick Donahoe said during a news conference earlier this week that the new plan will save the postal service half a billion dollars each year while addressing concerns of rural residents most opposed to post office closings.

The move to spare 3,700 low-revenue post offices from closure followed months of dissent from rural states and their lawmakers, who said the cost-cutting would hurt their communities the most.

To read the rest of the story, pick up a copy of The Valley News 

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *