Veteran drivers claim wins at Oswego Speedway

Top three – Otto Sitterly (right), Davey Hamilton (center) and Brian Sobus (left) finished in first, second, and third place, respectively. It was Sitterly’s 21st career win and fourth opening night win. –Valley News photo by John Ferlito

by Dan Johnson

Veteran drivers Otto Sitterly and Jay Andrews took checkered flags on opening night at Oswego Speedway Saturday.

Sitterly snuck the lead away from David Gruel with four laps to go in the 50-lap supermodified race and drove away for the win while Andrews led from lap 2 and went on for career win number two in the SBS division.

Brian Sobus and David Gruel led the 25 supermodifieds to the green flag with Gruel getting the bite on the outside taking the lead. The outside line got the better start.

While Gruel led, outside row 2 starter Davey Hamilton followed him through and ran in Gruel’s tire tracks early on.

Joe Gosek and Randy Ritskes went to the high side to get through early race traffic while Jeffrey Abold and Michael Barnes went low to move forward. A pair of early cautions slowed the race early on with pit stops abundant during the slowdown. The most significant pit stop saw defending champ Joe Gosek pull the 00 pitside as the steering went away on the 00.

Further back, Sitterly began working his way forward from his 12th starting spot, picking cars off inside and out. As Gruel and Hmailton pulled away, Ritskes, Barnes, Joey Payne, Dave Danzer, Sobus, Abold, Sitterly and Jerry Curran ran up front.
By lap 15, it was a seven-car breakaway up front with Gruel turning laps in the 17.2s, Hamilton glued right to his bumper. Ritskes patiently waited in third with Barnes, Payne, Danzer, and Sitterly all in contention.

To read the rest of the story, pick up a copy of The Valley News

Share this story:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Email